Cook Music Library Digital Exhibitions

Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)

About this item

Title Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)
Description "Opera in four acts by Giuseppi Verdi, with libretto in Italian by Francesco Maria Piave, after Victor Hugo's play Le Roi's Amuse."

English Translation by Andrew Porter
Creator The Indiana University Opera Theater
Indiana University School of Music
Date September 27, October 4, 11, 18, 1980

Musical Arts Center
Indiana University
Contributor The Duke of Mantua- Colenton Freeman, Gran Wilson
Borsa- Michael Peterson, Brian Scott
Countess Ceprano- Rita Thomas, Mary Witten
Rigoletto- Tim Noble, Michael Smartt
Marullo- William Ryberg, Jeffrey Snider
Count Ceprano- Stephen Biggers, Richard Gamble
Count Monterone- Mark Johnson, Mark Lundberg
Sparafucile- Ted Adkins, Kevin Maynor
Gilda- Clarissa Behr, Sylvia McNair
Giovanna- Frances Neufeld, Marion Pratnicki
A court page- Connie Heidenreich, Ann Moreci
A guard escorting Monterone- Charles Corso
Maddalena- Celia Bernens, Diane Elias
Courtiers- John Bellamy, Daniel Brewer, Maxwilliam Brown, Terry Bucher, Joseph Cercy, Thomas Hicks, Colin Hills, Ronald House, Frank Levar, Joseph Levitt, Michael MacLachlan, Peter Pellinen, Charles Sliger, Stephen Taylor, Brian Trego, Peter Volpe, Thomas Witakowski
Ladies of the Court and Pages- Andrea Adkins, Victoria Atwater, Katharyne Baker, Laura Beyer, Julie Cheek, Marcelle Dronkers, Jeanne Enlow, Katherine Gilbert, Sandrea Gulley, Mary Hatcher, Janice Holsapple, Marilyn Holt, Jennifer Mickel, Ann Moreci, Tracey Moore, Betty Shine, Jennifer Zarchy

Conductor- Bryan Balkwill
Stage director- Ross Allen
Designer- Max Röthlisberger
Chorus master- Michael Dixon
Coaches- Beth Gutowski, Philip Kuttner
Stage manager- Barbara Baugh
General manager- Dean Charles H. Webb
Type Opera


IU Verdi's Rigoletto October 1980 p1.jpeg
IU Verdi's Rigoletto October 1980 p2.jpeg
IU Verdi's Rigoletto October 1980 p3.jpeg
IU Verdi's Rigoletto October 1980 p4.jpeg


The Indiana University Opera Theater Indiana University School of Music, “Giuseppe Verdi (1813-1901)
Rigoletto,” Cook Music Library Digital Exhibitions, accessed May 20, 2022,