Cook Music Library Digital Exhibitions

An American Songbook

About this item

Title An American Songbook
Description Samuel Barber (1910-1981)
Knoxville: Summer of 1915 (1948)

"One Kiss" from The New Moon, 1928
(Sigmund Romberg/Oscar Hammerstein II)

"Art is Calling for Me" from The Enchantress, 1911
(Victor Herbert/Harry B. Smith)

"Someone to Watch Over Me" from Oh Kay! 1926
(George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin)

"By Strauss" from The Show is On, 1936
(George Gershwin/Ira Gershwin)

"All the Things You Are" from Very Warm for May, 1940
(Jerome Kern)

"I'm Old Fashioned" from You Were Never Lovelier, 1942
(Jerome Kern)

"Hello Young Lovers" from The King and I, 1951
(Richard Rodgers/Oscar Hammerstein II)

"One More Kiss" from Follies, 1971
(Stephen Sondheim)
Creator Opera Columbus
Date December 4, 1997

The Ohio Theatre
Columbus, OH
Contributor Opera Columbus
Opera Columbus Orchestra
Hal France, conductor
Sylvia McNair, soprano
Type Orchestra concert


Opera Columbus An American Songbook Dec 4 1997 p.1.jpg
Opera Columbus An American Songbook Dec 4 1997 p.2.jpg


Opera Columbus, “An American Songbook,” Cook Music Library Digital Exhibitions, accessed November 27, 2021,