Cook Music Library Digital Exhibitions

New York Philharmonic

About this item

Title New York Philharmonic
Description Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
The Passion of our Lord Jesus Christ According to the Evangelist Matthew (St. Matthew Passion), BWV 244
Creator Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
Date February 12, 13, 14, 17, 1998

Avery Fisher Hall
Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
New York, NY
Contributor New York Philharmonic
Kurt Masur, music director/conductor
Sylvia McNair, soprano
Annette Markert, mezzo-soprano
John Aler, tenor, as the Evangelist
Stanford Olsen, tenor
William Stone, baritone, as Christ
Olaf Bär, baritone
Thomanerchor Leipzig
(The Choir of St. Thomas Church, Leipzig)
Georg Christoph Biller, director

Glenn Dicterow, violin
Sandra Church, flute
Renée Siebert, flute
Nina Stern, recorder
Keith Underwood, recorder
Joseph Robinson, oboe
Robert Botti, oboe
Thomas Stacy, oboe d'amore, English horn
Sherry Sylar, oboe d'amore, English horn
Carter Brey, cello
Eugene Levinson, bass
Judith LeClair, bassoon
Stefan Altner, harpsichord
Charles Rex, violin
Mindy Kaufman, flute
Dionne Hansen, flute
David Kossoff, oboe, oboe d'amore
Dorothy Darlington, oboe, oboe d'amore
Alan Stepansky, cello
Jon Deak, bass
David Carroll, bassoon
Lionel Party, harpsichord
Judith Davidoff, viola da gamba
Kent Tritle, organ
Type Orchestra concert


NY Phil Avery Fisher Feb 12-17 1998 p.1.jpg
NY Phil Avery Fisher Feb 12-17 1998 p.2.jpg


Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, “New York Philharmonic,” Cook Music Library Digital Exhibitions, accessed October 21, 2021,